Its been 1 year and I SURVIVED!

A year ago (October 1st) I wrote my very first blog post on how I took the risk and quit my stable corporate job  that I been at for 8 years to Dj full time. So much has happened since then and honestly I wish I would have quit my job earlier, but hey better late then never! I can remember that feeling I had like it was yesterday walking away from my cubicle and out those corporate doors for the last time thinking… this is really happening! Then just doing one big scream when I went in my car just saying “YESSSS I DID IT!!” and a few FCK YEA’S and tears came out too haha.

Since then things haven’t been that bad! I managed to stay busy all year with maybe a few scary weeks in the beginning of the year but everything worked out. Actually on my anniversary (October 1st) I was actually on a cruise ship Dj’ing. How crazy is that?!

Now don’t get me wrong I’m not bashing working in a office or anybody who does this for a living. I just know that it wasn’t for me, but working that long at corporate wasn’t all bad. I actually learned several skills that I now use on the business side of Dj’ing now. I truly believe things happen for a reason!

Here’s a few tips that I wanted to share with you that has helped me out in my first year of Dj’ing full time.

  • Treat Dj’ing like a business

Dj’ing is a fun job don’t get me wrong, but its not all about getting free drinks in the club and kissing promoters asses (sorry for being so blunt lol). Get your business license! Get a legit looking logo from a professional. Make business cards and a website. Even get invoices that have your logo on them. Learn the tax side of things like business expenses, what you can’t and can write off and all those other fun Uncle Sam things.

5-Tips-for-Starting-a-Business

  • Wake up before 10am

Now I know its hard to fall into that “Dj schedule” but since I quit my job I still wake up at 9am everyday (except when I’m dj’ing on cruise ships lol). I wake up .. have my coffee and head to my office to work on whatever I have to do that day and answer all my emails. Trust me you get more done in the day and you can lock down gigs faster.

cranky-early-morning

  • Hustle EVERYDAY

What I mean by this is when you’re not Dj’ing or have days off during the week. Work on something.. either download music, write a blog post, make a mix, contact clients, update your website ect. Don’t just look at your days when you’re not Dj’ing as a day off. Keep Hustlin!

hustle1

  • Be nice to people

Simple as that just be nice to people and be humble. Nobody likes working with a cocky A-hole or someone that’s super fake. Be nice because you mean it. My motto is “Treat your clients like your family”.

46d83de9839261bc7db3590491517972

  • Make a vision board

If you haven’t watched the movie the “Secret” watch it NOW. It will explain everything

The-Secret

  • Read Books

Don’t stop learning. I like to read a lot of self help and business books. You will be surprised on how much you can learn.

read-books

 

Leave a Reply

