Weekend with the Iron GIrls!

2015 IG Hero Seattle

Hello there!

This past weekend I had so much fun spinning for Iron Girl for the first time both Saturday and Sunday at Genesse Park. Iron Girl launched in 2004 with just two events in the United States. Since then the Iron Girl gained so much popularity over the years that the event broadened over the past decade. Starting with 5 and 10k to half marathons, expending and incorporating mother/daughter races and sprint triathlon’s! Iron Girl has even been featured in a range of media outlets that include USA Today, The New York Times, Runner’s World, Family Circle, Ok! Magazine and Women’s Health! They now have triathlon’s all over America!

Day 1

On Day #1 was registration/packet pickup for the triathlon and United Healthcare Iron Kids Seattle fun run that consists of a 1/4 mile or 1 mile course. They even had doctor dog (I think that was his name) joining the kids at the start line before they took off running. The first song I played as they started running was “Who let the dogs out” haha this was a suggestion from one of the Iron Girl team members which was a great suggestion! Too bad I didn’t have it on my computer. I’ll be honest I haven’t heard that songs in years. Thank gawd for WIFI & ITunes! Woohoo

 

 

IMG_2099

IMG_2092

day 2

Day #2 was the big day and I’ll be honest it was the first time I had to wake up before the birds, the sun and Starbucks!  YUP I was up at 4am and out the door by 5am. That’s probably what time most Dj’s go to sleep haha! It was kind of nice to be able to watch the sun rise though especially on Lake Washington. I started playing music at 6am while the runners started making their way to the start line. Around 9am was when the party started and the runners started crossing the finish line. My set consisted of really high energy music. In my head I was thinking.. high energy work out music that had a “I made it” feeling haha. I also found out the true meaning of what it means when someone says “eat my dust!”. These ladies were going so fast that me, my laptop and equipment was eating all the dust that was getting kicked up from the runners! haha I forgot to mention the announcer Dexter was so awesome! I haven’t vibed off of an MC like that in a while! For the last people to cross the finish line he rounded up the ladies to form what he calls the circle of love. Right when I heard that I played Rihanna’s – We Found Love and then I followed with Matthew Wilder’s – Break my stride for the last two runners.

the circle of love

It was so inspiring to see these runners in all shapes, sizes and ages working their asses off to the finish line and to see all these women come together to make this one big event was very empowering! If you have never attended one of these events I would highly recommend it. Even if you’re not running it’s so cool to witness all these runners and their hard work pay of at the finish line.

Like always here’s more pictures of the event 🙂

IMG_2113

 

IMG_2109IMG_2111

 


Leave a Reply

